Sunday Reflections: Upcoming Books, Fun Stuff and Great Deals You Might Have Missed, Week of November 17, 2013

17 Nov

Upcoming Books and New Releases

Pamela Clare‘s latest edition to her romantic suspense/military romance I-Team series, Striking Distance, came out on November 5th and early sales show readers are snatching it up. Fans of Maya Banks and M. L. Buchman might find themselves enjoying this series which combines major romantic angst with sensual characters and adrenaline-inducing suspense. The Kindle edition is also only $4.79 right now, so this could be a good time to try Clare if you haven’t already.

Fans of Carrie Ann Ryan‘s erotic paranormal Dante’s Circle Series get more for their money with her latest installment in the anthology Ever After, published on November 9th. With the novella “His Choice” listed as #3.5 in the Dante’s Circle collection, Ryan leads off this grouping of paranormal novellas, all of which tie into other successful series by authors Marie Harte, Rebecca Royce, Lia Davis and Leia Shaw. As always, quality anthologies are a great way to see if there are other authors and series that might interest you, particularly when the book sticks within the same genre.

Historical readers who enjoy Elizabeth Boyle‘s Rhymes With Love series, need to pre-order the next book in that series, If Wishes Were Earls, since it’s not only ready to order for a December 31st delivery, but the paperback version is currently discounted to $3.77. Harriet Hathaway has always wanted the Earl of Roxley and is convinced he will propose to her after they share a passionate interlude. But all signs point to him as ready to propose to another which might break Harriet’s heart if she didn’t see the emotion in his eyes every time he looks at her.

Contests and Giveaways

I’m always a little leery of romances involving Native American elements as you know, but I’d be willing to give Genevieve Graham‘s Somewhere to Dream (the third in her McDonnells series) a try, particularly since all her books are so well rated. Luckily for me, I might actually win a copy, since this novel about a young woman adopted as a child by the Cherokee and a captured man who hates Indians looks very interesting. Enter on the book’s Goodreads giveaway page before November 20th to see if you can win a copy.

The wonderful blog Hesperia Loves Books (you’ll remember her outstanding Breast Cancer fundraiser I featured in October) is promoting several authors with yummy boxed sets with a “Hoppin’ the Boxes” terrific giveaway. Enter the contest before November 19th and you could win not just eight boxed sets but also a gift card to your favorite ebook retailer!

Paranormal romance readers love Lara Adrian‘s Midnight Breed series (and who can blame them) but do you think they know that Adrian has a terrific companion guide to the series out? The Midnight Breed Series Companion came out this summer to good reviews, but it’s now also available via a Goodreads giveaway, so head over there before November 20th to enter and see if you can win a copy. Don’t want to wait? The book’s Kindle version is only $3.99.

I loved Zoe Archer‘s first book in her Nemesis, Unlimited series, and am therefore waiting with baited breath for the next book, Dangerous Seduction, about this group of undercover agents determined to right society’s wrongs. Luckily for me, this book featuring an aristocratic agent and the working class woman fighting for the rights of copper miners is going to be out in a mere eight days. Interested readers might want to head over and also enter the Goodreads giveaway before the deadline (and publication date) of November 26th.

Fun Stuff

I’m not really sure why, but the U.S. Postal Service is issuing awesome Harry Potter stamps featuring stills from the original movie. You can order them now (and I will) because who wouldn’t love a frenetic Hermione raising her hand on their holiday card? Seriously, who?

The 21st Annual Award for Bad Sex in Literature (billed as “Britain’s Most Dreaded Prize”) will take place on December 3rd and you have got to read some of these entries! Sponsored by Literary Review magazine, these tireless men and women comb otherwise good books for really awful descriptions of sex. While I’m sure plenty of literary authors and editors disparage romance, the fact remains that writing good sex isn’t easy, even for otherwise great writers – it’s a skill that not everyone has. Please note a commonality is always that the writers who make the final cut are usually 1) men and 2) don’t seem to understand that 20 minutes of clitoral stimulation is the average for a woman to achieve orgasm. Just sayin’.

Prologue Tea Company is a line of teas based on classic literature, just perfect for your favorite book lover, English teacher or librarian. Delicious combinations along with a retro package design make this an easy and popular gift for the holidays. With the opening lines of the novel featured on the back of the canister, this could make waiting for your water to boil go a lot faster. Designed by graphic artist Flora Chan there is still no word on where to buy this beautiful product, so I’m hoping this isn’t just an intellectual exercise but an actual potential present.

Great Deals

Jennifer McQuiston (love that name) is known for her historical romances with more than a little romantic comedy in them, so fans or curious readers will be pleased to know that her book, What Happens in Scotland, is on sale for $.99 right now on Amazon. Billed by many reviewers as an 1842 version of The Hangover, the book is praised for its lighthearted banter between a beautiful widow and the second son of an Earl who wake up in small Scottish village in the same bed – and the heroine is wearing a wedding ring.

Lara Adrian’s Heart of the Hunter, previously published under her other pseudonum of Tina St. John, is now out in ebook and available for only $.99. Considering that this book is the first in her Dragon Chalice trilogy, it’s a nice way to ease into this series filled with knights and dark magic. Paranormal and/or historical romance readers may want to consider trying this collection by sampling this first book.

Paranormal suspense writer Maggie Shayne‘s short Dream of Danger is currently free on Amazon, which gives readers an opportunity to see in person the tensions between blind self-help writer Rachel De Luca and Detective Mason Brown, both brought together in Shayne’s first suspense novel, Sleep with the Lights On, when Rachel undergoes a cornea transplant and begins to see visions. When Rachel distrusts her assistant’s new boyfriend, her instincts go on high alert when the woman doesn’t show up to Thanksgiving dinner, and Rachel is forced to turn to the man who harbors secrets keeping them apart, Mason Brown. With the first book only $.99, this short free, and the second full-length novel, Wake to Darkness, due out on November 26th (and available as a giveaway on a Goodreads contest), you could be enjoying these books for a pittance while your turkey roasts in the oven.

Regency fans ready to take out their Christmas decorations will enjoy the deal they can get on the anthology, A Grosvenor Square Christmas, featuring short stories from historical romance powerhouses like Shana Galen, Anna Campbell, Vanessa Kelly and Kate Nobel. And the best part? It’s available for free right now. Happy Christmas, indeed!

We just celebrated Veteran’s Day this past week, so what better way to consider the sacrifice and work of our nation’s heroes than reading military romance? Considering that there is a fantastic new box collection, Uniform Desires, with 625 pages of stories from authors like Sharon Hamilton, Melissa Schroeder, Elle James, Delilah Devlin, J. M. Madden, and Cat Johnson for only $.99 it’s practically unpatriotic not to buy it.

Happy Reading this week!

One Response to “Sunday Reflections: Upcoming Books, Fun Stuff and Great Deals You Might Have Missed, Week of November 17, 2013”

  1. La Deetda Reads November 17, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Once again a terrific update, Tori. Of course, you must know that, the first thing I did after reading through was to go and click on the “Bad Sex Award” site. The video is really good. Is there anything we romance novel lovers hate more than badly written sex scenes? Okay, badly written any part of the novel may be a contender but the sex scenes seem to rule.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: