Music Monday: Halo by Beyonce is the Plot of a Romance Novel

26 Mar

There are certain songs that manage to encapsulate an entire romance novel, or at the very least, a hero or heroine’s emotional journey.  “Halo“, recorded by Beyonce Knowles in 2008 as part of her I Am…Sasha Fierce album, was written and composed by Knowles, Ryan Tedder, and Evan Bogart.

A certain amount of controversy surrounded Beyonce’s recording of the song, as it was originally destined for vocalist Leona Lewis, who couldn’t record it due to other commitments. Yet another famous singer, Kelly Clarkson, was upset because she had worked with Tedder previously and felt Halo’s arrangement was much to similar to her song from him, “Already Gone,” which came out in 2009.  In an extremely classy move, after Clarkson heard “Halo” she asked her record label RCA to pull “Already Gone” since she was worried about disrespecting Beyonce, but they refused her request.

“Halo” tells the story of a person who has found an ideal love, despite having been hurt in the past and previously shuttering their emotions. (All lyrics from LyricsMode)

Remember those walls I built
Well, baby they’re tumbling down
And they didn’t even put up a fight
They didn’t even make up a sound

I found a way to let you in
But I never really had a doubt
Standing in the light of your halo
I got my angel now

It’s like I’ve been awakened
Every rule I had you breakin’
It’s the risk that I’m takin’
I ain’t never gonna shut you out

How many romance novels have you read where the hero or heroine is hit by a ton of bricks when they see their destined love?  The use of angels (fallen or otherwise) is a common trope in romance fiction, whether it refers to a love interest’s appearance or behavior in the sense of them “saving” the other main character. Further developing the “savior” concept in the lyrics:

Hit me like a ray of sun
Burning through my darkest night
You’re the only one that I want
Think I’m addicted to your light

I swore I’d never fall again
But this don’t even feel like falling
Gravity can’t forget
To pull me back to the ground again

Feels like I’ve been awakened
Every rule I had you breakin’
The risk that I’m takin’
I’m never gonna shut you out

“I swore I’d never fall again / But this don’t even feel like falling”? Brilliant lyric.  I can sense the brooding hero just feeling the rightness of this person he has just found that clicks right into his life and his soul.  Sigh.

Despite the controversy, I for one am glad to have this song in my “Love and Romance” playlist.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

